PROTECTIVE STYLE ALERT: Havana Twists!

So SUMMER’S HERE (yayyyyyyy!!) and residency is now in full swing!! With work now slowly taking over my life (ugh!), I needed to figure out something to do with my hair. And fast. I needed a hairstyle that was:

  1. Easy to style and manage.
  2. Locked in moisture.
  3. Relatively inexpensive.

Keeping these three things in mind, I found a perfect solution. HAVANA TWISTS!! And I must say that I am absolutely in love with them. πŸ˜€

IMG_6769

❀

I attempted this lovely protective style for the very first time all by myself. I utilized the “invisible root” method detailed in dozens of YouTube videos. Click HERE to see the actual video I used to replicate this style, by friend and YouTube vlogger Princess Chae.Β (Be sure to check out other videos on her channel. Her hair and makeup tutorials are awesome!)

I have had this style in for about a month and it took me approximately 9 hours to complete. I would say it took me so long because it was my first time and I had to learn how to train my hands to secure the twists well. I am sure my future attempts at this style will get much faster with time. I also wanted my twists to be very long. Mine go just past my butt and I am 5’8″. (Yea. I know super long, huh!? Lol πŸ˜› )

IMG_6770

Take 1! 😎

IMG_6771

Take 2! 😎

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

My havana twists are very easy to style and manage. I am able to style them as I do most braids, but my default style is usually a bun being that I spend most of my time with patients in the hospital.

IMG_6774

Bun’s

IMG_6799

are

IMG_6800

pretty

IMG_6773

cool πŸ™‚

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

My havana twists also make it very easy to moisturize my hair. Not only did I moisturize my natural hair very well before installing the twists, I also spray my scalp with a mixture of Β water, leave-in conditioner, and coconut oil every night before I go to bed.

I used 7 bags of Femi Collection’s Marley Braid Hair in colors 1 and 1B to achieve this style. I was able to purchase the hair for $4.99/bag from my local BSS. So I only spent about $35+tax on a style that I know is about $150 and up in the salon. I would most defintely classify that as #winning.

So all in all, I am absolutely in love with my new found summer protective style. It met all of my three needs and is super cute! What do you think? Would you give it try?

7 thoughts on “PROTECTIVE STYLE ALERT: Havana Twists!

  1. Pingback: My 1st Natural Hair Event: Shop and Style with Cantu | fitcurvyfierce

  2. oooo my lawd, 9 hours?? chile that’s another job…lol but they look amazing, you did great. Now that you got the hang of it, you can just keep doing it as a protective style and save money at the same time. I do consider that winning πŸ™‚

  3. Ahhhh I love them! I actually wanted to try them out this summer but these military aways are killing my vibe! -__-

      • Definitely not enough time to do it myself with CK on Thursday but it’s too much hair to fit under my cap and the size of the bun isn’t in regulation aka it’s too big

      • Lol. Well you can try it another time. And dang I didn’t know you had CK already. Good luck! I’m sure you will murder it!

Leave a Reply

